Skip to content
West Lothian Counts — West Lothian, in numbers.Local help →

West Lothian, in numbers

People and living standards

West Lothian council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

West Lothian council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 145,040 in 1991 to 187,240 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

West Lothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 150,080 people in 1996; 187,240 people in 2025. 24.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — West Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991145,040
1992144,500
1993145,680
1994147,250
1995148,710
1996150,080
1997151,780
1998153,200
1999154,760
2000157,050
2001159,030
2002160,370
2003161,690
2004163,540
2005165,010
2006167,110
2007169,470
2008171,390
2009173,040
2010174,090
2011175,300
2012175,480
2013175,200
2014176,060
2015177,060
2016178,330
2017179,080
2018179,270
2019179,740
2020179,920
2021180,850
2022181,730
2023184,250
2024186,160
2025187,240
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

West Lothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,263 people in 1996; 33,927 people in 2025. 2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — West Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199132,421
199231,954
199332,334
199432,738
199533,002
199633,263
199733,532
199833,740
199934,159
200034,493
200134,959
200234,709
200334,422
200434,532
200534,505
200634,720
200734,938
200835,160
200935,287
201035,272
201135,411
201234,920
201334,464
201434,369
201534,245
201634,261
201734,309
201834,200
201934,243
202034,039
202133,844
202233,741
202334,100
202434,209
202533,927
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

West Lothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 100,036 people in 1996; 118,914 people in 2025. 18.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — West Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199196,841
199296,658
199397,219
199498,188
199599,152
1996100,036
1997101,147
1998102,184
1999103,146
2000104,730
2001105,736
2002106,919
2003108,117
2004109,292
2005110,315
2006111,685
2007113,200
2008114,172
2009115,060
2010115,431
2011115,743
2012115,369
2013114,580
2014114,645
2015115,084
2016115,571
2017115,751
2018115,499
2019115,320
2020115,289
2021115,797
2022116,179
2023117,538
2024118,478
2025118,914
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

West Lothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,781 people in 1996; 34,399 people in 2025. 105% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — West Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,778
199215,888
199316,127
199416,324
199516,556
199616,781
199717,101
199817,276
199917,455
200017,827
200118,335
200218,742
200319,151
200419,716
200520,190
200620,705
200721,332
200822,058
200922,693
201023,387
201124,146
201225,191
201326,156
201427,046
201527,731
201628,498
201729,020
201829,571
201930,177
202030,592
202131,209
202231,810
202332,612
202433,473
202534,399
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 181,272 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · West Lothian · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total171,80794.8%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 175,118 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · West Lothian · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White170,77197.5%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller790%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group5340.3%
Asian / Asian British: Indian6410.4%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani1,4200.8%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi110%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese4980.3%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian3710.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British5750.3%
Other Ethnic Group2180.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 10.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

West Lothian council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,277 per person in 1997; £23,214 per person in 2024. 180.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — West Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,277
19988,581
19999,228
200010,086
200110,698
200211,243
200311,729
200412,054
200512,281
200612,979
200714,161
200814,161
200913,946
201014,267
201114,367
201214,830
201315,422
201415,951
201516,617
201616,904
201717,498
201817,730
201918,408
202018,599
202119,156
202220,558
202321,849
202423,214
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

West Lothian council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -22% in 1997; -10.6% in 2024. 11.4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — West Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-22
1998-20.7
1999-18.4
2000-15.3
2001-13.5
2002-11.1
2003-10
2004-11.2
2005-12.6
2006-11.4
2007-7.7
2008-10.1
2009-12.9
2010-11.7
2011-11.8
2012-12.2
2013-11.9
2014-11.8
2015-12.7
2016-12.2
2017-11.2
2018-13.1
2019-12.6
2020-11.4
2021-12.3
2022-10.5
2023-10.6
2024-10.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · West Lothian council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · West Lothian council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£227,000

July 2026 · West Lothian council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.